A Blog by Bajingobomb, Horde US-Malfurion

Is Blizzard Building Skynet?

I went to the WoW armory for the first time in probably 2 years today and found that the thing has gotten wtfhuge.

All my characters are flashy 3D, I can post and search auctions, I can even look at my pet and mount collections.  Perhaps the coolest (and saddest) thing I saw was that I can even find out which pets/mounts I don’t have, as well as where to find them.  I say it was sad because it was really exciting to me.

Here all along Blizzard has been building a home away from home for WoW players and I didn’t even notice because I was too busy playing the actual GAME.  Now I come to find out that even if I manage to pull myself out of Azeroth, I can still stay immersed in the whole thing while I am outside or at work.  This armory combined with the new mobile guild chat means I could theoretically never ever have to be totally removed from the game.

I’ll say it now, Blizzard is the herald of the rapture.  Eventually the armory will offer services that will let you level professions remotely, maybe go fishing.  Next maybe they’ll have wed-based daily quests you can complete towards actual achievements in-game.  Some of those Molten Front quests are so basic they could easily replicate them.

Eventually the armory will be able to play the game for you and then what?  Then it realizes it probably can do all the other stuff you do too.  Next thing you know, the Armory is self-aware and building giant orc robots to break down your door.

It could happen, just saying.

2 responses

  1. ROFLOL! Yeah, forget about zombies, I’m creating an escape plan when the giant orc robots from the Armory come after me.

    July 13, 2011 at 3:40 pm

  2. And I, for one, welcome our new robot Orc overlords.

    July 13, 2011 at 3:41 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.