A Blog by Bajingobomb, Horde US-Malfurion

Frost Mages Suck in Raids

News flash, right?  The only time frost was considered a good raid spec was at the outset of vanilla raiding when everything you pulled was immune to fire damage.  Still though, Blizzard has made long strides since then in attempting to make all specs viable in both end-game PvE and PvP – so why is frost the seemingly lone remaining bastard child?

Anyone who has read the blog since I re-launched and cares to remember what I wrote for longer than 45 seconds might recall that I recently embarked on a new journey as a gnome mage.  The intent was to give me an avenue to check out all the revamps to 1-60 brought by Cataclysm, and hopefully give me new things to rant about.

When I hit level 10, I thought long and hard about which tree I wanted to lock myself into until level 70.  I ultimately decided to go with the frost tree just because my original mage had never been frost spec since the release of The Burning Crusade.

With heirlooms and a 50% slow on my main nuke, its pretty much faceroll to level as frost.  The pet is next to worthless except for the extra freeze, but thats fine because that’s usually all I need anyway.  I can easily down 5-6 mobs at a time with the ranged freeze + talented Blizzard slow – its mind-numbingly simple.

What I’ve realized from playing the spec though is that the same thing that makes it great for leveling is what makes it awful for end-game PvE.  Frost is a spec that has a very specific “flavor” to it – it favors roots and slows, as you would expect, because frost is something that is cold.  Without those mechanics, it wouldnt feel like a frost tree anymore.

The problem with it is that the damage has to suffer to give all those spells the “frosty” feel they come with.  Why would you use Fireball if Frostbolt hit just as hard AND slowed an attacker?  Why would you use Blast Wave for a daze if Frost Nova did equal damage and rooted?  I get that, and thats probably a trade-off that people are happy with.  It’s worked out for me so far in my leveling experience, and I can certainly see the appeal from a PvP standpoint.

That said, given that everything in raid content that counts (trash doesn’t) is immune to slow and root.  Even the bottom tier frost talent has to have incentive to use it against mobs that are immune to freeze effects.  You’re left with your gimpy damage that is being offset by utility that you literally cannot take advantage of.  Fingers of Frost goes a little ways in mitigating it, but even then Ice Lance is never going to be your primary source of damage.

So what could they do to make frost raid-viable?  They could probably sort it out with some creative glyphs – something that allows you to remove the slow effect from your frostbolt and increase its damage.  But if they did that, what’s the point of being frost?  As it stands, the slows/roots are what defines the class.  Take those away and bump up the damage and you might as well be playing a fire mage – you’d be using the same basic rotation with procs thrown in (mind freeze may as well be hot streak as it is).  Even then it would still be inferior because fire offers better options for getting dps on adds without having to fully abandon the primary target.

I guess what I am really saying here is that the leveling experience has given me an appreciation for something I thought was completely terrible.  It’s actually fun being able to kite around elite mobs and solo shit I probably couldn’t burn down with the glass cannon approach of the other mage specs.  I feel though that the aspects of the frost tree that make it unique will ultimately prevent it from ever becoming a fully raid-viable spec.

And maybe that’s fine.  After all, it’s not like being the black sheep is something new to the Mage class…

One response

  1. Actually, I’ve been experimenting with frost spec in raids and heroics lately, and it’s done better than I expected. My gear is mediocre at best, but I was pulling 11K on Firelands trash the other day without using cooldowns. Which is not spectacular, but it’s nothing to be ashamed of, either. With better gear and me trying a little harder, I think it could go much higher.

    It’s never going to equal arcane, but for those who aren’t concerned with being the #1 DPS in every group they join and enjoy the playstyle, I think frost is finally becoming a viable choice.

    July 13, 2011 at 3:47 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.