A Blog by Bajingobomb, Horde US-Malfurion

Cataclysm 1-40 Retrospective

Where was this shit when I had to start a paladin at level 1 in Burning Crusade??  Seriously, leveling is actually fun now.

I guess this is something most hardcore players totally write off as one of the features of Cataclysm.  Hell, I did.  I had already leveled all my alts to at least 70, the promise of new 1-60 content didn’t really appeal to me as a feature to list on the back of the box.

That said, the one thing I still have never done in 6 years of WoW is level a character to max level as Alliance.  I noted Friday that my Gnome mage experiment had begun – and I’m not sure if it’s the heirlooms, the new faction, the new quests, or all that shit combined, but I am having a great time.

The revamped Gnome starting area was largely disappointing start (if they were going to give trolls and gnomes their own areas it would have been nice for them to last a bit longer than the 20-minute 1-6 stretch), but past that it’s been a lot of fun.  Gone are the days of vanilla where you are sent back and forth between town and some random yeti cave, each time with a quest to go a little bit further in than you previously had.  Gone also are quests that send you clear across the fucking world to talk to some guy and then go back where you came from.

Each now has more of its own story and quest flow, much like the Northrend and high-level Cataclysm zones.  It makes for a more immersive leveling experience as you see how more or less every quest fits into the grand scheme of things in that zone, and more importantly it saves you all the hassle of going all over creation to get things done.

The best zone up to this point in my opinion has to be the revamped Eastern Plaguelands.  Now a level 35-40 zone, EPL has been reclaimed by the Argent Dawn and Argent Crusade and the storyline follows two paladins aspiring to join their ranks as they ride a caravan from tower to tower.  It’s designed to basically take you in a circle around the zone, and provides some cool bonus buffs to choose from as you add more and more members to your caravan.  The story of the zone even culminates in a short cutscene where your fully assembled party bands together to take down a banshee.  Really cool zone – nice flow, fun quests, lots of flavor.

In a way this makes me glad I no longer raid hardcore in WoW.  I would likely have never taken up the task of leveling a new character from level 1 were I still committed to a full-time 5-day raid schedule.  It’s nice to see this other side of the game that Blizzard assured us was so much better in Cataclysm than it was before, having previously not even seen it as a selling point.

Really the only downside I see to the 1-60 revamp (unless the upcoming 40-60 zones are a major drop in quality) is the fact that all I have to look forward to at the end of the fun is the soul-crushing wasteland known as Outland :(

3 responses

  1. Love your funny photo header. About this post though- I really hate not being able to take quests unless I do other quests. I found it more fun when I had options.

    March 14, 2011 at 3:42 pm

  2. macnikos

    Another thing that needs to be mentioned is the fact that the quest givers are all at the entrance of the dungeon. That´s really cool if you want to level up as quickly as you can. Anyway, I remember myself spending 4-5 hours getting all the quest from Sunken Temple, one of the best dungeons ever… I kind of miss that time.

    Anyway, I did level my Rogue from 18 to 50 in something like 25 hours. Leveling process felt really lineal but enjoyed it a lot. I loved Southern Barrens and hated Thousand Needles.

    Hey man, where are all your You Tube videos?

    March 15, 2011 at 12:35 am

    • Thanks for visiting!

      I’m surprised how many PMs I’ve received asking about the videos I had up here 2-3 years ago. I’m in the process of getting everything hosted on YouTube, visit my channel to check them out.

      All the old stuff will be up soon!

      March 15, 2011 at 1:53 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.